Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa (eARC review)

cover129636-medium.png

9781848457393

TITLE: Shadow of the Fox

AUTHOR: Julie Kagawa

RELEASED: November 2nd 2018 by

GENRE: Teens + YA Fantasy

First of all… look at those covers! Aren’t they stunning? Which is your favourite? Red = US/Green = UK. I prefer the green, but only slightly..

Now. Unpopular opinion alert!

I was so excited for this book! Everyone I know has been chatting it up, so I was SURE I’d love it. Not the case. I didn’t hate it, but it definitely isn’t top 10 material for me. I found the plot to be extremely slow and a bit tiresome. Tatsumi was extremely boring, even though he was the demonslayer. There just didn’t seem to be much to him in regards to character development or personality… I did love Yumeko. She was wildly hilarious and just someone you’d love to be friends with. Yumeko and the ragtag crew she collects along her journey are totally what redeemed this for me. I enjoyed parts of the book, but I wouldn’t be mad to finish the series to be entirely honest. Hoping book two is a whole lot better than this…

One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish—and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos.

Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn.

Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple’s greatest treasure—one part of the ancient scroll.

There are many who would claim the dragon’s wish for their own. Kage Tatsumi, a mysterious samurai of the Shadow Clan, is one such hunter, under orders to retrieve the scroll…at any cost. Fate brings Kage and Yumeko together. With a promise to lead him to the scroll, an uneasy alliance is formed, offering Yumeko her best hope for survival. But he seeks what she has hidden away, and her deception could ultimately tear them both apart.

With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko’s secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself.

New from the New York Times bestselling author of The Talon Saga and The Iron Fey. Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Julie C. Dao, Marie Lu, Cassandra Clare and more bestselling YA fantasy will be captivated by book one of this enchanting new series.
.

Thank you so much to Harlequin Teen via Netgalley for providing me with an ARC.

Goodreads Monday 18/06/2018

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted at Lauren’s Page Turners. To participate, choose a random book from your TBR and show it off! Don’t forget to link back to her blog and feel free to add your link to the comments section.

Hi everyone! I just discovered this meme via my friend’s blog over at Confessions of a YA Reader, so go check out her blog!!!

Here’s one I’m dying to read! I love Claire Legrand, so damn much it’s unreal! Her debut, Furyborn, was AH-MAZE-ING!

gr1806

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

To be Published October 2nd 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books

Beware of the woods and the dark, dank deep.

He’ll follow you home, and he won’t let you sleep.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: the new girl. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: the pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.

Val: the queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives, a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires.

Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight… until now.

Have you read this yet? Should I read it soon or did you not enjoy this book? Leave a note in the comments!

Goodreads Monday 11/06/2018

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted at Lauren’s Page Turners. To participate, choose a random book from your TBR and show it off! Don’t forget to link back to her blog and feel free to add your link to the comments section.

 

Hi everyone! I just discovered this meme via my friend’s blog over at Confessions of a YA Reader, so go check out her blog!!!

The Black Witch (The Black Witch Chronicles #1)

Published May 2nd 2017 by Harlequin Teen

A new Black Witch will rise…her powers vast beyond imagining.

Elloren Gardner is the granddaughter of the last prophesied Black Witch, Carnissa Gardner, who drove back the enemy forces and saved the Gardnerian people during the Realm War. But while she is the absolute spitting image of her famous grandmother, Elloren is utterly devoid of power in a society that prizes magical ability above all else.

When she is granted the opportunity to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming an apothecary, Elloren joins her brothers at the prestigious Verpax University to embrace a destiny of her own, free from the shadow of her grandmother’s legacy. But she soon realizes that the university, which admits all manner of people—including the fire-wielding, winged Icarals, the sworn enemies of all Gardnerians—is a treacherous place for the granddaughter of the Black Witch.

As evil looms on the horizon and the pressure to live up to her heritage builds, everything Elloren thought she knew will be challenged and torn away. Her best hope of survival may be among the most unlikely band of misfits…if only she can find the courage to trust those she’s been taught to hate and fear.

 

Have you read this yet? Should I read it soon or did you not enjoy this book? Leave a note in the comments!

Fat Girl on a Plane by Kelly deVos (ARC review)

51on0iUNVIL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_TITLE: Fat Girl on a Plane

AUTHOR: Kelly deVos

RELEASED: June 5th 2018 by Harlequin Teen

GENRE: YA

“Yeah. There’s fat-shaming everywhere. But it’s up to us what we do with it. I mean come on, Cookie.”

MY THOUGHTS: This is one of the most unique reads ever – taking a look at fat-shaming and other related issues. I loved the side by side telling of the Fat timeline and the Skinny timeline – very original. Cookie is a wonderful, empowering character who is following her dreams and screw anyone who stands in her way! I felt as if I stood next to Cookie throughout the whole novel due to the delightfully quippy narration. This is essentially the story of my life. The struggles Cookie faces are similar to those each of us Roundish creatures face daily. I thoroughly enjoyed her personality and her ability to face the adversity. She does have flaws, of course (this IS a YA novel), but they are totally relatable and realistic.

“Some things just aren’t for sale, Cookie”

When Cookie finally meets one of her biggest idols, she’s unimpressed and, it seems, nearly repulsed by his manner. So, I’m not sure how she winds up caught up with him the way she does. Yes, I read the book and followed her journey…but something was missing for me in the build-up. I just don’t see how she feel into the role so easily. Reminds me a little of Ana and Christian, just less emphasis on their personal life (and no BDSM, that we can tell). I was a little worried about the whole 19 year old in relationship with established businessman to be entirely honest. I’m still not a fan of GM, but it does move the story along and help Cookie develop into who she needs to be, even if I don’t really like it.

“What does it say about life that the gods considered hope a misery?”

Cookie is all of us who have tried yoyo dieting and lifestyle changes that don’t stick, eliminating favourite food items from our menus in favour of losing weight. The whole story is hilariously funny, captivating, and emotional.

“Lydia Moreno is not only the kind of woman I want to be, she’s the kind of woman who makes me want to make clothes.”

AMAZONGOODREADS * BOOKDEPOSITORY


“I will always be that same fat girl on the plane. The one who knows what it’s like to have people refuse to look you in the face…Well, I’m taking a stand.”

BLURB: From debut author Kelly deVos comes an unforgettable novel, told in dual Fat and Skinny perspectives, about smart fashion, pursuing your dreams, and loving yourself.

High school senior Cookie Vonn’s post-graduation dreams include getting out of Phoenix, attending Parsons and becoming the next great fashion designer. But in the world of fashion, being fat is a cardinal sin. It doesn’t help that she’s constantly compared to her supermodel mother—and named after a dessert.

Thanks to her job at a fashion blog, Cookie scores a trip to New York to pitch her portfolio and appeal for a scholarship, but her plans are put on standby when she’s declared too fat too fly. Forced to turn to her BFF for cash, Cookie buys a second seat on the plane. She arrives in the city to find that she’s been replaced by the boss’s daughter, a girl who’s everything she’s not—ultrathin and superrich. Bowing to society’s pressure, she vows to lose weight, get out of the friend zone with her crush, and put her life on track.

Cookie expected sunshine and rainbows, but nothing about her new life is turning out like she planned. When the fashion designer of the moment offers her what she’s always wanted—an opportunity to live and study in New York—she finds herself in a world full of people more interested in putting women down than dressing them up. Her designs make waves, but her real dream of creating great clothes for people of all sizes seems to grow more distant by the day.

Will she realize that she’s always had the power to make her own dreams come true?

4ae7d-screen2bshot2b2018-03-012bat2b19-02-14