ARC REVIEW | The Tiger at Midnight by Swati Teerdhala

38205303

Title: THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT

Author: SWATI TEERDHALA

Releases: 23RD APRIL 2019 by KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS

Genre: TEENS + YA/FANTASY

🐯Never greet a tiger at midnight, for they are the manifestations of your past misdeeds🐯

GIVE ME MORE REBEL ASSASSIN LADIES, NOW, PLEASE!

To say I loved this is an understatement, this story took my breath away. It’s so unlike most of what I’ve been reading lately, and I’ve always been fascinated by Indian culture and history. I really enjoyed the connection between the two MC’s, Esha – the Viper – and Kunal – the soldier. They were so well written and relatable! Both have flaws, but are still such wonderful people. They’re actually a lot alike, yet still on separate sides of a conflict.

The story is told through alternating POV’s chapter to chapter, so you get a lot of information regarding each side. I really loved that sometimes you would read one chapter and go through an entire scene from one POV, but then the next chapter would backtrack a bit to the beginning of the same scene. So you would get the other character’s POV and oftentimes more information that explained motivations and actions you wouldn’t have gotten from just the one POV. It made for a more complete picture of what was happening.

Now, I don’t know if you know this about me, but I absolutely love multi-dimensional characters. Especially when their various sides seem mildly incompatible. For example, KUNAL – THE SOLDIER – LOVES TO PAINT! He’s an artist, not a killer, forced into the solider life because of events in his childhood. My heart is crying for this child and I want to cuddle him. Although, I think Esha is taking care of that quite nicely! And Esha, she is just one of my favourite characters ever! She’s so wily and slippery like a snake (see what I did there?) hehehehe

There’s also a huge connection between Esha and Kunal, which I loved. They wrecked my heart and I enjoyed every minute! The connection goes deeper than just romance and I really adored the way Swati Teerdhala approached their story. It wasn’t the focus, but added nicely to the rest of the story.

100% a FIVE STAR read for me, and I wish I could rate it higher!

There’s also a pre-order campaign at swatiteerdhala.com/preorder


Esha is a legend, but no one knows. It’s only in the shadows that she moonlights as the Viper, the rebels’ highly skilled assassin. She’s devoted her life to avenging what she lost in the royal coup, and now she’s been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha.

Kunal has been a soldier since childhood, training morning and night to uphold the power of King Vardaan. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path—even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has been growing only more volatile.

Then Esha’s and Kunal’s paths cross—and an unimaginable chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they’re calling the shots, but they’re not the only players moving the pieces. As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both rebel and soldier must make unforgivable choices.

Drawing inspiration from ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology, the first book in Swati Teerdhala’s debut fantasy trilogy captivates with electric romance, stunning action, and the fierce bonds that hold people together—and that drive them apart.

Thank you so much to Swati Teerdhala and Katherine Tegen Books for the ARC.

Screen Shot 2019-02-08 at 22.19.36

March TBR and Reading Challenge

This is going to be a big month for reading, I can just feel it! It’s taken me a few days to figure out what I’m reading this month. I have a reading challenge I’m participating in alongside getting my April ARCs read and reviewed! I have 8 physical and 2 Netgalley books to read this month, as well as 2 already published and a whole queue of audio and ebook loans on my Libby app!

I’ve already finished The Heart Forger, Wink Poppy Midnight, and started Little Monsters for audiobooks. Currently reading Sherwood by Meagan Spooner and I LOVE IT! It’s such a great Robin Hood retelling! Can’t wait to tell you all about it!

I definitely have my reading cut out for me this month. Aside from the above, I have The Invited by Jennifer McMahon, the mermaid’s voice returns in this one by Amanda Lovelace, 2 books on the way that I’ll shout about once they arrive, and I’d like to read more of King of Scars and The Priory of the Orange Tree at some stage this month. Also, dying to read Five Feet Apart when my library hold comes in, which could be next month 😱 Maybe I’ll do a *Library Loans* post sometime soon… what do you think?

And the amount of preorders I have coming up…. it’s no wonder i never have money 😂😂

Did I tell you I won a copy of Bloodleaf in a giveaway?! Hopefully that arrives soon and can be added to this month’s TBR… PREORDER it and enter the preorder campaign!

The reading challenge I’m doing is in honour of International Women’s Month and can be found at Women’s Hall of Fame TBR and Beyond Book Club event. I hope some of you join us! Here’s the board for the challenge:

Well, that’s all for now! See you later, Wayfarers! xx

ARC Review | We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

Title: WE SET THE DARK ON FIRE

Author: TEHLOR KAY MEJIA

Published: 26TH FEBRUARY 2019 BY KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS

Genre: YA LITERATURE FICTION/FEMINIST FICTION

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?

Be still my heart…what a wonderful story. I loved every minute of it and had to stay up entirely too late to finish it. SO worth it, though! I couldn’t put it down because I was so on edge with wanting to know what happens next. Dani (MC) is a brilliant character who has come from a background so different to where her life is heading. She is the top student and so is to be married to young man of a very high ranking and distinguished family. I thought the social system of the inner island was interesting, and explains the Medio School. It’s basically like a finishing school to learn to become a one of two wives – Primera or Segunda – which are based on a myth about their gods. This polarization of their society opens up a brilliant discussion of feminism and what it means to be true to yourself.

This novel takes a good look at our society in parts. The wall creating a barrier between people; the societal divide between women; the marriage rituals; government corruption. And it shows us quite obviously that these are not the way of creating a good society. This particular world is so scary, and that’s partly because some of the issues are so close to what we’re experiencing. The characters are so amazingly well developed and interesting, even the shitty ones! I’ve always found that’s a hallmark of great writing – being able to write characters that are unlikable, yet interesting. Also, keep your eyes peeled for the f/f romance (LOVE)!

I adore this ownvoices story and find myself very much looking forward to book 2 of this duology. I was also unaware it was part of a series, so was expecting a resolution at the finish. However, I was shocked by the cliffhanger! Never saw that ending coming…. 😱 was definitely a FIVE STAR read for me!

Will you be reading it?